Fortnite Battle Royale: Epic Announces Season 6 Start Date

And players are getting a bonus experience points weekend leading into it.

Fortnite’s sixth season will officially kick off on September 27, Epic Games announced on Twitter this morning.

“Season 6 is now dropping from the Battle Bus on September 27,” tweeted Epic. “Celebrate its arrival and unlock those final Battle Pass rewards with an additional 400% Match XP all weekend, from now until September 24 at 8 AM ET (1200 GMT). Glide into the party!”

That bonus XP weekend therefore ends on Monday at at 5am Pacific / 8am Eastern / 1pm UK / 10pm AEST.

Exit Theatre Mode

Some fans believed Season 6 would kick off earlier, with rumors having first circulated that Fortnite would change over from Season 5 to 6 yesterday and then later rumors placing the date on Sept. 25. Either way, Epic is throwing everyone a bone with that huge experience multiplier this weekend before the new season actually starts on the 27th.

Fortnite is coming off its biggest month ever in August, with 78.3 million players. Meanwhile, after weeks of migrating across the map, the mysterious purple cube finally sunk into Loot Lake earlier this week.

Nick Santangelo is a freelance writer based in Philadelphia. He loves video games and sports, but not sports video games. Follow him on Twitter.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.